531 Main Street, Suite 7, Jacksboro, TN 37757
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Call for a Free Consultation | We are Available 24/7

Call Us423-449-7980

We are Available 24/7
Recent blog posts

Campbell County rollover truck accident lawyer

Truck drivers tend to carry a lot of goods on their vehicles when making deliveries. In Tennessee, trucks cannot weigh over 80,000 pounds, and drivers must make sure all cargo is secured before beginning their routes. While most trucking accidents occur due to distracted driving or other forms of driver negligence, crashes can still happen if cargo has not been properly tied down when traveling on roadways. If cargo shifts too much, the truck can become unbalanced, which may lead to a rollover accident. Truck drivers or trucking companies who do not properly secure cargo and cause an accident may be responsible for compensating any victims involved in the crash who suffer personal injuries.

The Reality of Trucking Accident Injuries

Accidents involving a truck account for 1 in 10 collisions on U.S. highways. In 2017, approximately 5,000 people were killed and many more were injured due to truck accidents, according to a report by Consumer Notice.

...

Campbell County personal injury lawyer

Some people may like to ride in the back of a pickup truck for fun, but this can lead to injuries if a person is thrown or ejected from the truck bed. Each state has its own rules when it comes to truck bed passengers. In Tennessee, no child under the age of six years old may ride in the back of a pickup truck. Tennessee law also states that no minor under 12 years old is allowed to ride in a truck bed when the vehicle is traveling on an interstate or a highway. Those passengers who are older than the age of 12 are able to legally ride in the truck bed. However, if they are ejected and injured in a car accident, they can seek compensation from the at-fault driver.

What Can Cause a Passenger to Be Ejected From a Truck Bed?

Since there are no seat belts installed in pickup truck beds, it is more dangerous to ride in this area of the truck, especially in certain road conditions. A collision does not need to happen in order for someone to be thrown from a truck bed.

...

Campbell County BUI injury lawyer

The state of Tennessee has strict laws against boating under the influence (BUI). Just one offense can result in a fine of up to $2,500 and a jail sentence of up to a year. Boating under the influence can also lead to consequences if one or more passengers are injured during a voyage. The driver of the boat is always responsible for the safety of the passengers and those around the boat. Since alcohol use slows a person’s reaction time, it can be difficult to stop an accident from happening, which is why someone should never operate a boat after consuming too much alcohol.

Common Injuries Resulting From BUI

Smaller boats are often overloaded, which can lead to the vessel capsizing--turning over--and dumping its passengers into the water. If someone enters the water while intoxicated, he or she is more likely to drown due to lack of mobility.

...

Campbell County DUI school zone lawyer

Driving under the influence (DUI) is illegal in all 50 states. Tennessee passed a bill earlier this year to make the penalties for DUI offenses within a school zone more severe. Since most pedestrians in school zones are children, the need for safe driving is more important in order to keep the young ones protected from injury. The new law, which was introduced and passed in February, states that anyone driving under the influence in a school zone will be subject to double the punishment for an ordinary DUI offense outside of the school zone. For misdemeanor offenders, this means that both fines and prison terms will be doubled.

New Tennessee Law

The new Tennessee law for DUI offenses within school zones also covers:

...

Campbell County motorcycle accident attorney

Motorcyclists have a lot less protection than someone in a car while they travel on the roadways. This is why they should take more precautions to avoid injuries that can occur regardless if they collide with another vehicle. Motorcycle accidents can happen as a result of several reasons, including negligence by the motorcyclist or other motorists sharing the road. The motorcyclist following too closely behind a vehicle or another driver in a vehicle following a motorcycle too closely can also result in a crash. A motorcyclist weaving in between cars at a high rate of speed is dangerous, and this "lane splitting" is illegal in Tennessee. Poor conditions of the road such as potholes or debris can also cause drivers to suddenly swerve out of the way, thus causing a collision. These types of accidents can result in a motorcyclist who is taken to the hospital with injuries such as road rash, broken bones, head or back pain, lacerations, and even death.

Tennessee Motorcycle Safety Laws

Before cruising on the open road on a two- or three-wheeled vehicle, all Tennessee drivers must earn a motorcycle (Class-M) license. Examinations are similar to earning a regular driver’s license and anyone over the age of 16 years old can work to earn their right to drive a motorcycle. Once motorcyclists complete all the necessary tests, they are expected to abide by the rules of their given state. According to Tennessee law, all motorcyclists must:

...

Jacksboro, TN truck accident personal injury lawyer

Driving a truck requires an individual to take special classes for a commercial driver's license (CDL) before he or she is allowed to get behind the wheel of a big rig. Each operator of a truck must know not only how to drive the large vehicle, but also how to stay safe on the road to avoid collisions. A truck accident can occur as a result of negligence by the truck driver on the road. Unfortunately, most truck crashes also lead to serious injuries, including, but not limited to:

  • Whiplash

    ...

Campbell County ATV DUI defense lawyer

All-terrain vehicles (ATVs) are a popular form of off-road transportation for those looking to have fun in recreational areas, especially during warm weather conditions. These vehicles are barred from sharing the roadway with cars and trucks. However, they require a driver’s license just like automobiles in order to drive them legally. Also, if someone decides to drink alcohol before getting behind the wheel of an ATV, he or she can be charged with a DUI. If the impaired driver causes an accident, it can result in serious consequences, such as jail time and fines.

What Are the Tennessee DUI Punishments?

In Tennessee, ATVs are allowed to drive in specified parks, forest areas, hiking trails that permit ATVs, and recreational areas. These are all public zones, so drivers of ATVs are expected to be mindful of the safety of everyone on the trails, including pedestrians and bicyclists.

...

Jacksboro, TN auto accident lawyer

Drivers are expected to follow the rules of the road and travel safely. With so many vehicles on the highways, everyone needs to be especially mindful when they change lanes. Whatever the reason for lane changing, a driver should check their side and rearview mirrors and wait until it is clear to move over. If the motorist does not do so, a sudden lane change can cause a collision with another car. Depending on the speed at which the crash happened, the accident could result in serious injuries to the drivers and passengers involved. 

Types of Injuries That Can Result from Lane Change Collisions

Depending on the rate of speed that both vehicles are traveling, there can be severe damage and injury caused by a lane change. Damage to the vehicles includes front-end bumper dents, damage to side doors and mirrors, and rear-end bumper and frame distortions.

...

Jacksboro, TN DUI liability attorney

In Tennessee, driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is illegal. It is presumed a drunk driver is liable to pay compensation for any injury or death caused by driving while intoxicated since it is an act of reckless driving. However, there are some cases in which determining liability for causing a DUI-related car accident may not be so easy. Tennessee is one of 30 states that observe a Dram Shop Liability statute, which can place responsibility for DUI accidents on restaurants and/or bars depending on the circumstances.

What Is the Dram Shop Liability Statute?

Under Tennessee law, a licensed establishment that sells alcohol to a person who is may be held liable for damages in an alcohol-related car accident. They may be required to pay compensation for any personal injury or wrongful death caused in the accident as a result of the consumption of alcohol sold. Tennessee limits this “Dram Shop Liability” statute to cases in which restaurants or bars sell alcohol to a clearly intoxicated person or a minor under the legal drinking age.

...

Campbell County manslaughter defense attorney

Roadways can be dangerous places due to many factors, such as speeding vehicles, construction zones, and treacherous weather. There is a long list of injuries and damages that can occur as a result of a motor vehicle accident. Death is on that list, but in Tennessee, a person cannot be charged with first degree murder unless the victim's death was planned ahead of time. Instead, if someone is killed in a car accident, the person responsible may be charged with vehicular homicide. It is important to distinguish between the two charges, since the penalties are different. 

Murder Versus Vehicular Homicide

Tennessee law defines murder in different severities. The worst is First Degree Murder, which is intentionally killing another person. The punishment for this crime is either life in prison or the death penalty.

...

Campbell County, TN car accident lawyer drowsy driving

Roads and highways can be dangerous places, whether someone is driving for work, for pleasure, or as part of their daily routine. The large number of automobiles on the road increases the risk of car accidents, and one of the primary factors that can lead to deadly collisions is fatigued driving. Truck drivers should especially be careful of driving while tired, since they are often on the road for long hours and during overnight shifts. If a vehicle collides with a larger vehicle like a truck, the results can be catastrophic.

According to the Tennessee Highway Safety Office, fatigued driving results in 1.2 million crashes and over 5,000 fatalities every year. Victims of car accidents involving fatigued drivers may be entitled to receive financial compensation for their damages.

...

Campbell County BUI defense lawyer

Tennessee is a great place to enjoy outdoor activities. With the summer season approaching, many people take advantage of the warm weather as a time to relax on the water. Those who own a boat should be mindful, however, that there is a limit to how much one should be drinking while operating a boat. According to the Tennessee Boating Incident Statistical Report, there were 113 reported boating incidents in 2018. Of that total, 15 were caused by reckless boating, and six were reported as specifically being caused by alcohol impairment. Like driving, the legal blood alcohol content limit is 0.08 percent, and anyone who operates a boat over that limit can be charged with a boating under the influence violation.

How Is Boating Regulated in Tennessee?

In Tennessee, safe boating is enforced by the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency (TWRA). Officers with the TWRA are charged with assisting any vessel with trouble and making sure all boaters are operating their vehicles appropriately. At any time, a TWRA officer has the right to board a boat he or she believes to be operating improperly. If the officer believes the driver of the boat is under the influence of alcohol, he or she can conduct a field sobriety test, just as if the driver was in a car.

...

Jacksboro DUI lawyer

Even though the legal drinking age in the United States is 21 years old, minors all across the country often drink illegally. This can occur due to peer pressure or because the minors have easy access to alcohol or drugs within their home. There are many penalties and punishments when a minor is caught drinking illegally, but if they are caught driving under the influence, there will be even more consequences. They will face not only DUI charges, but they will also lose their driving privileges for a certain amount of time.

Tennessee Underaged DUI Penalties

The state of Tennessee has three statutes to enforce and attempt to eliminate underage drinking and driving. The most severe is the Driving While Impaired statute that affects minor drivers between the ages of 16 and 20. Any minor driver caught driving under the influence will have his or her license revoked for one year with no possibility of earning a restricted license. They will also face a $250 fine and service work per the discretion of the court.

...

Campbell County, TN personal injury attorney

Parents have recently been capturing startling footage of cars not obeying traffic laws at school bus stops. Cell phone cameras have caught drivers nearly running over children who are boarding school buses, even when buses are stopped with flashing lights, a stop sign displayed, and a safety bar extended. Failure to stop when a school bus is picking up students can lead to serious injury of a child, and a driver will not only face criminal consequences, but they may be held financially responsible for the injuries caused.

According to Tennessee law, a driver may not pass a school bus when it is stopped, its lights are flashing, and it has a stop sign and safety arm extended, unless there is a median strip between the car and the bus. If a driver fails to stop, he or she can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor, which includes a fine of up to $1,000.

...

Jacksboro, TN motorcycle accident lawyer

The warm weather is upon us, which means more motorcyclists are hitting the pavement. Like people who drive cars, motorcyclists are expected to take several precautions to stay safe while driving. However, motorcycle accidents can happen even when all safety measures are taken. Since motorcycles are smaller, they are often harder to see on the road, and they can occur because other drivers do not respect a motorcyclist’s right of way. Collisions between motorcycles and other vehicles often result in personal injury, and an injured cyclist may be eligible to receive compensation for injuries or damage to their motorcycle.

What To Do After an Accident

If an accident happens, the driver who is at fault for the incident is responsible for paying for any damage experienced by others involved in the accident, including costs related to injuries and repairs for damages to vehicles. Therefore, if you are a motorcyclist involved in an accident, you should assess your injuries and the damage to your motorcycle while still at the accident site.

...

Jacksboro car accident lawyer

According to the Tennessee Highway Safety Office, every 34 seconds, a child under the age of 13 is involved in a car accident. Each state in the country has its own specific laws regarding child safety when traveling in a motor vehicle. Unfortunately, not everyone knows the most appropriate safety restraint system to use to keep their child as safe as possible.

Tennessee’s Child Restraint law has clear rules for how a child should be secured at every age. A car accident can cause catastrophic injuries to a child, and that is why it is mandatory in every state for children under the age of 16 to be securely fastened while riding in a vehicle. If your child is injured in an auto accident, a skilled personal injury lawyer can advise you on steps for taking legal action against a negligent driver or manufacturer.   

...

Campbell County DUI lawyer

According to the Tennessee Highway Patrol, the number of alcohol-related motor vehicle crashes has dropped in Campbell County since 2014, but so far this year, there have been nine, bringing the total to 336 since 2009.

Regardless of whether a driver has consumed alcohol, you can expect to be pulled over if a police officer sees you driving erratically down the road. When this happens, and you have been drinking, you could face the possibility of DUI charges.

...

Jacksboro, TN personal injury lawyer

With approximately 2 million tractor-trailers on the road, truck drivers and motor vehicle drivers should be aware of ways to avoid truck accidents. Truck drivers are responsible for earning a commercial driver’s license (CDL) before operating a commercial vehicle and motorists are responsible for being extra vigilant when in the presence of big rigs.

Truck Driver Safety

After earning a CDL, the best way to stay safe on the road is also the most basic: know how to operate and keep control of your vehicle. According to the commercial driver’s license manual, all trucks should be inspected before, during, and after each trip. These inspections must be logged in case a truck needs to be repaired.

...

Campbell County car accident lawyers

In the state of Tennessee, there were more than 497,000 reported motor vehicle collisions throughout 2017, including over 30,000 in which at least one passenger suffered injuries. Tragically, more than 1,000 people ultimately died due to injuries suffered in car accidents, statewide. 

If you or a loved one are injured in a motor vehicle collision, the related expenses, including vehicle damage, loss of work hours, and medical bills, can be significant. After being involved in a car accident, the first step is to check the medical condition of all passengers and to seek medical treatment for any injuries suffered. It is important to act quickly after an accident to help your chances of securing financial compensation for your injuries.

...

Campbell County car accident lawyer

Here in the United States, rear-end collisions occur more frequently than any other type of collision. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), rear-end crashes make up approximately 29 percent of all annual car accidents. In many of these instances, rear-end collisions cause severe injuries, ranging from whiplash to brain trauma and spinal cord damage. These types of injuries often come with significant medical bills and potential loss of work hours. Due to the monetary ramifications of a rear-end collision, it is important to secure injury compensation. Below we will explore the steps you need to take so you receive the financial compensation you deserve. 

Establishing Accident Liability

For a successful personal injury claim, it must be established that another driver was responsible for the collision. In the vast majority of rear-end collisions, the negligent party is the rear-vehicle driver. The most common form of negligence leading to a rear-end collision is driver inattention. Distracted driving is prevalent these days, especially texting while driving. Driver inattention can also be a result of fatigued driving or driving under the influence of alcohol. In any case, the odds of a rear-end wreck also increase if a driver maintains an unsafe following distance (tailgating).

...
Lead Councel TACDL Elite Lawyer Top 40 Under 40 Tennessee Trial Lawyers Association
Back to Top