531 Main Street, Suite 7, Jacksboro, TN 37757
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Call for a Free Consultation | We are Available 24/7

Call Us423-449-7980

We are Available 24/7

How Are Penalties Different for DUI and BUI in Tennessee?

Posted on in DUI/DWI

Campbell County criminal defense attorney BUI

While there are many similarities between the penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) and boating under the influence (BUI) according to Tennessee law. While many of these are nearly equal in degrees of severity depending on the offense, there are some minor, subtle differences between the ways that they are penalized. Depending on the details of your case, you might be able to be absolved of the charges or, at the least, receive the lesser of the penalties being considered for that offense. Here are a summary and a comparison of the penalties for DUI and BUI so that you know what to expect if you are charged with any of them in Tennessee.

Tennessee Punishments for DUI and BUI Offenses

Make no mistake: Tennessee authorities will charge you severely for any crimes committed due to drunkenness above the blood alcohol content (BAC) limit, especially when it involves the operation of any type of motorized vehicle. In the cases of driving trucks or cars versus steering boats, the dangers are no less serious. That is why the penalties are severe for both, but there are some minor differences:

Offense

DUI Penalties

BUI Penalties

First

  • Minimum jail sentence of at least 48 hours
  • Possibility of incarceration for up to 11 months and 29 days
  • <liProbation
  • Fines from $350-$1,500
  • Driver’s license revoked for one year
  • Mandatory DUI school attendance
  • The installation of an ignition interlock device to always measure BAC levels before being able to drive
  • Jail sentence of up to 11 months and 29 days
  • Fines of $250-$2,500
  • Suspension of boating privileges for up to one year

Second

  • A minimum of 45 days in jail
  • A maximum of 11 months and 29 days of incarceration
  • Fines from $600-$3,500
  • Driver’s license revoked for two years
  • Court-ordered participation in an alcohol/drug treatment program
  • Possible loss of vehicle to the court
  • The installation of an ignition interlock device to always measure BAC levels before being able to drive
  • Jail sentence of up to 11 months and 29 days
  • Fines of $500-$2,500
  • Suspension of boating privileges for two years

Third/Repeat

  • A minimum of 120 days in jail
  • A maximum of 11 months and 29 days of incarceration
  • Fines from $1,100-$10,000
  • Driver’s license revoked for six years
  • Court-ordered participation in an alcohol/drug treatment program
  • Possible loss of vehicle to the court
  • The installation of an ignition interlock device to always measure BAC levels before being able to drive

After three DUI charges, it is considered a Class E Felony, carrying with it the following penalties:

  • A minimum of 150 consecutive days in jail
  • Incarceration of at least a one-year sentence
  • Fines from $3,000-$15,000
  • Driver’s license revoked for eight years
  • Participation in a drug treatment program
  • Possible loss of vehicle to the court
  • The installation of an ignition interlock device to always measure BAC levels before being able to drive
  • Minimum jail sentence of 30 days
  • Up to 11 months and 29 days of incarceration
  • Fines of $1,000-$5,000
  • The suspension of boating privileges for a minimum of three years up to a maximum of 10 years

Contact a Jacksboro BUI Defense Lawyer

While the penalties are similar, they are not the same, with DUI penalties requiring additional preventive measures to be taken (education, treatment, interlock devices, and more) Regardless, both DUI and BUI are serious crimes, and the alleged offenders must be given the best defense possible. To attain a positive outcome if accused of such a crime, contact an experienced Campbell County DUI defense attorney. The Law Office of William F. Evans has the results-oriented background and knowledge to help you through both DUI and BUI charges. Call 423-449-7980 anytime 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, to schedule your free consultation.

 

Sources:

https://www.tn.gov/safety/publicsafety/duioutline.html

https://www.tn.gov/twra/boating/regulations-and-safety-concerns.html

 

Lead Councel TACDL Elite Lawyer Top 40 Under 40 Tennessee Trial Lawyers Association National College of DUI Defense Member DWI Detection Certificate
Back to Top