531 Main Street, Suite 7, Jacksboro, TN 37757
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Call for a Free Consultation | We are Available 24/7

Call Us423-449-7980

We are Available 24/7

How Can I Reinstate My Suspended Tennessee Driver’s License?

Posted on in DUI/DWI

Campbell County driver's license reinstatement attorney

There are many violations in Tennessee that can result in the suspension of a driver’s license, including driving under the influence of drugs/alcohol (DUI), inability to provide proof of insurance, and excessive accumulation of negative points on a driver's record. In regard to DUI suspensions, it can be a long and costly process in order to reinstate a license before a driver can legally get back on the road. Since most people drive every day, it is important to learn the proper procedures for license reinstatement if you are a Tennessee motorist. 

Penalties that Come with DUI License Suspension

Punishments for driving under the influence can be given out to adults over the age of 21 and minors who are under the legal drinking age. Minors will have their license revoked for one year if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is over 0.02 percent, and the court system can order extra punishments as it sees fit. An offender could also pay a fine of $250 and/or be required to complete a certain number of community service hours.

Adults who are caught driving under the influence face more severe consequences:

  • First offenders will have their license revoked for one year, complete a jail sentence, and pay a fine of between $350 and $1,500.

  • Second offenders will have their license revoked for two years, complete a jail sentence, and pay a fine of between $600 and $3,500.

  • Third offenders will have their license revoked for up to 10 years, complete a jail sentence, and pay a fine of between $1,100 and $10,000.

Anyone who has their license suspended or revoked can petition to have a restricted driver’s license while their mandatory license suspension period takes place. The state of Tennessee recognizes that some people need to be able to travel for work in order to pay bills, and a restricted license will allow an offender to drive only to certain locations.

Requirements for License Reinstatement

Along with a mandatory amount of time in which a license is suspended or revoked, there can be other requirements for a driver to complete before being able to legally drive again, such as the following:

  • Pay the mandatory license reinstatement fee. For DUI convictions, this is currently $100.

  • Pay other fees that are ordered by the court, such as $50 with an SR-22 form or $75 for not turning in a suspended license to the Department of Safety (DOS) in time.

  • Complete an alcohol and drug treatment program.

  • Install an interlock ignition device (IID) in your car.

All offenders should check with the Tennessee DOS in order to find out what requirements must be met before a license can be reinstated. Once all requirements have been met, a driver can pay all the fees and submit all the proper paperwork to the local Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) either in person, online, or through the mail to receive a new license.

Contact a Jacksboro, TN Criminal Defense Attorney

The process of reinstating a driver’s license after suspension or revocation can be an intimidating and confusing process. If your driving privileges are in jeopardy, you should seek the help of skilled attorneys from the Law Office of William F. Evans who will carefully guide you through the process. To schedule a free consultation with one of our Campbell County driver’s license reinstatement lawyers, call our office today at 423-449-7980.

 

Sources:

https://www.dmv.com/tn/tennessee/suspended-license
https://www.tn.gov/safety/publicsafety/duioutline.html

 

Lead Councel TACDL Elite Lawyer Top 40 Under 40 Tennessee Trial Lawyers Association National College of DUI Defense Member DWI Detection Certificate
Back to Top