531 Main Street, Suite 7, Jacksboro, TN 37757
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Call for a Free Consultation | We are Available 24/7

Call Us423-449-7980

We are Available 24/7

New Tennessee Law Requires Drivers to Stop for School Buses

Posted on in Criminal Defense

Campbell County criminal defense attorney traffic violation

Traffic laws are meant to keep everyone on the road safe, whether it is a vehicle driver, pedestrian, motorcyclist, or bicyclist. Recent Tennessee legislation enacted the STOP Act, which dictates how drivers should respond to school buses. Familiarize yourself with this newer law to avoid stringent charges. If you are accused of any traffic violation, you should immediately consult with a traffic violation attorney and prepare a thorough and rigorous defense. 

The STOP Act

According to Tennessee law, drivers must never pass a school bus that has stopped to unload children, regardless of the direction in which they are traveling. Once a school bus begins moving again, nearby drivers may also do so. Bus drivers may also signal drivers that they may proceed, and if they turn off the bus’s visual signals, drivers may pass. School buses have a stop sign on the side of their vehicle that extends out while their lights flash, so it is easy to recognize when a bus driver is stopping to unload children.

This law stems from accidents in which drivers strike children as they cross the street. Because of the possible tragedies drivers can cause by violating this law, Tennessee police urge other drivers to report anyone who passes a school bus that is stopped and unloading children. 

Any driver who is caught violating this law is subject to an eight-point violation on his or her Tennessee driver’s license. If you accumulate 12 points, you will receive a letter from the state that will threaten license suspension and an opportunity to attend an administrative hearing. If you do not request a hearing, you will automatically have your license suspended for six to 12 months. If you do request a hearing, you will usually have the opportunity to attend a defensive driving class and avoid license suspension. The 12-point limit applies to adult drivers. Drivers younger than 18 years old will receive a letter from the state department after accumulating six points on their driving record within 12 months. 

Contact a Jacksboro, TN Traffic Violations Lawyer

Traffic violations in Tennessee carry significant consequences, and you will need to be prepared if you hope to diminish or eliminate charges. To meet with a qualified Campbell County criminal defense attorney in your area, turn to The Law Office of William F. Evans. We have an extensive history representing clients in personal injury and criminal defense cases, and we can use our experience to deftly navigate the circumstances of your case. To schedule a free consultation, call us today at 423-449-7980; we are available 24/7.

 

Sources:

https://www.tn.gov/safety/driver-services/driverimprovement.html

https://www.tennessean.com/story/news/local/williamson/schools/2019/01/15/williamson-county-drivers-ignoring-school-bus-safety-laws/2539807002/

http://wapp.capitol.tn.gov/apps/subjectindex/BillsBySubject.aspx?PrimarySubject=3300&GA=11

 

Lead Councel TACDL Elite Lawyer Top 40 Under 40 Tennessee Trial Lawyers Association National College of DUI Defense Member DWI Detection Certificate
Back to Top