531 Main Street, Suite 7, Jacksboro, TN 37757
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Call for a Free Consultation | We are Available 24/7

Call Us423-449-7980

We are Available 24/7

What Happens If I Get in an Accident With a New Vehicle in Tennessee?

Posted on in Motor Vehicle Accidents

Campbell County auto accident attorney

If you get into an accident or are pulled over for any other reason in Tennessee, you will always need to provide proof of insurance. However, unless you buy your vehicle from a private seller and fail to get insured beforehand, you should always have some form of insurance on your vehicle. We will explain why below, but remember that if you face charges for any traffic violation or need to secure fair compensation after a car accident, seeking the help of a seasoned personal injury attorney can go a long way in achieving a favorable outcome. 

Temporary Insurance in Tennessee

Tennessee law requires that all drivers have auto insurance that covers at least the following: 

  • $25,000 for each injury or death per accident

  • $50,000 for total injuries or deaths per accident

  • $15,000 for property damage per accident

If you are caught without proof of insurance that provides this minimum coverage, you risk facing fines and even a suspension of your license. To make things easier, many insurance companies have apps that allow you to display your policy information on your phone.

To avoid this situation, the common practice is to purchase a full, six-month car insurance policy before you go pick up your new car from the dealership. You also will not have to wait for an insurance card to come in the mail if you do this; your insurance company will provide you with a temporary policy card. Although the Electronic Insurance Verification System will have the information corresponding with the full policy, a temporary policy card will override this information.

If you are buying a new vehicle and still have insurance coverage on your old vehicle, you might be able to call your insurance provider at the dealership and request that the policy is transferred. However, it is still best to plan ahead and make sure your new vehicle is insured before picking it up.

How Do I Choose an Insurance Provider?

When shopping for a car insurance policy in Tennessee, know that most insurance policies last six months. Understand that the price will vary depending on where your vehicle is registered. For example, if your friend in Knoxville gives you a recommendation but you drive in Memphis, be prepared to pay a higher insurance premium because of the greater traffic density in the Memphis area.

Contact a Campbell County Car Accident Attorney

Traffic violations and car accidents require strong legal assistance in order to defend your rights to the fullest. It is important to have auto insurance on any vehicle you are driving in the event of a collision. If you were injured or your vehicle was damaged in a crash, you may be entitled to compensation if it was caused by a negligent driver. At The Law Office of William J. Evans, you will find an experienced Jacksboro, TN personal injury attorney who can help guide and defend you throughout your case. To schedule a free consultation, call 423-449-7980.

 

Sources:

https://www.tn.gov/revenue/title-and-registration/drive-insured-tennessee/for-drivers/why-you-should-have-auto-insurance.html

https://revenue.support.tn.gov/hc/en-us/articles/115000078523-What-if-I-get-pulled-over-right-after-getting-insurance-on-a-vehicle-I-just-bought-

https://www.thezebra.com/auto-insurance/tennessee-car-insurance/temporary-car-insurance/

 

Lead Councel TACDL Elite Lawyer Top 40 Under 40 Tennessee Trial Lawyers Association National College of DUI Defense Member DWI Detection Certificate
Back to Top