531 Main Street, Suite 7, Jacksboro, TN 37757
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Call for a Free Consultation | We are Available 24/7

Call Us423-449-7980

We are Available 24/7

What Safety Regulations Apply to Tennessee Truck Drivers?

Posted on in Motor Vehicle Accidents

Campbell County personal injury attorney truck accident

Tennessee is an at-fault state, which means that in the event of a vehicle accident, the driver at fault will be responsible for paying the other driver appropriate compensation through his or her insurance company. This rule also applies to truck accidents. Truck drivers must follow additional federal regulations, so if you and your attorney are trying to prove that a truck driver is at fault for your crash, there are more ways to hold the driver or trucking company accountable that you would not necessarily consider in a typical automobile accident. Regardless of the circumstances surrounding your collision, you should work closely with a personal injury attorney to have a better chance of receiving the compensation that you need and deserve.

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration Regulations

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) provides federal guidelines for truck drivers and trucking companies to follow to help ensure their safety and the safety of others. For example, hours-of-service rules stand to help prevent fatigued truck drivers from causing accidents. If a truck driver carrying property does not adhere to the following, it will be easy to prove that he or she is at fault for an accident:

  • Truck drivers may drive a maximum of 11 hours after 10 consecutive hours of rest.

  • When truck drivers first come on duty, they may not drive for more than 14 hours.

  • Truck drivers are only permitted to drive if eight hours or less have passed since the end of their last off-duty time or sleeper-berth period of at least 30 minutes.

  • They may not exceed 60/70 hours on-duty in 7/8 consecutive days. After at least 34 consecutive hours off-duty, they may restart this period.

If a truck driver is carrying a passenger, the following guidelines apply:

  • Truckers can drive 10 hours after 8 consecutive hours off-duty.

  • There is a 60/70-hour limit within 7/8 consecutive days on-duty.

  • Drivers using a sleeper berth must rest there for at least eight hours but may split that time in half if desired.

These rules are very serious because of the number of car accidents caused each year due to drowsiness. A study conducted by the AAA Foundation for Public Safety showed that 328,000 car accidents are caused by drowsiness annually, which is almost triple what the police indicate. Although drowsiness can be a valid argument for a driver to be at fault in an ordinary car accident, there are regulations that can help you when issuing a liability claim against a truck driver. 

Contact a Jacksboro, TN Personal Injury Attorney

Even if you are confident that the other driver involved in your vehicle accident is at fault, you should not take unnecessary risks. When you work with an accomplished Campbell County truck accident lawyer, you increase your chances of receiving adequate compensation for your damages. At The Law Office of William F. Evans, we understand how devastating a collision with a truck can be, resulting in lost income and expensive medical bills. Call us today at 423-449-7980 to schedule a free consultation.

 

Sources:

https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations

https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/hours-service/summary-hours-service-regulations

 

Lead Councel TACDL Elite Lawyer Top 40 Under 40 Tennessee Trial Lawyers Association National College of DUI Defense Member DWI Detection Certificate
Back to Top