531 Main Street, Suite 7, Jacksboro, TN 37757
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Call for a Free Consultation | We are Available 24/7

Call Us423-449-7980

We are Available 24/7

Will I Still Be Able to Drive if I Am Convicted of DUI in Tennessee?

Posted on in DUI/DWI

tennessee dui lawyerIt is not difficult to be charged with a DUI in Tennessee. According to Tennessee law, a person is considered to be driving under the influence (DUI) if they are in control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of any “intoxicant, marijuana, controlled substance...drug...or combination thereof,” that renders a driver unable to safely operate the vehicle. A driver is also considered to be driving under the influence if their blood-alcohol concentration is 0.08 percent or more, the Tennesse legal limit. If you are convicted of DUI or if you have even been arrested for DUI, it is likely that you will face a driver’s license suspension for at least a year. This can cause difficulty, but the option to apply for a restricted license exists to help those who are eligible. 

What is a Restricted License?

There are very strict restrictions that you must adhere to if you receive a restricted license after a DUI conviction or alcohol concentration test refusal. In Tennessee, you can only use the restricted license for things like:

  • Going to and from your place of employment

  • Getting to and from school

  • Appointments concerning your ignition interlock device

  • To attend an alcohol safety class or another court-approved education program

  • Attending a religious/worship service

In addition, there are certain requirements that you must meet before you are issued a restricted license. To qualify for a restricted license, you must:

  • Not have been convicted of DUI in the past 10 years

  • Not have been convicted of vehicular homicide or vehicular assault

  • Not have caused injury or death to another person because of DUI

  • Have had a valid driver’s license at the time of the offense

Will I Need to Install an Ignition Interlock Device on My Vehicle?

In some cases, a judge may order that you must have an ignition interlock device on any vehicle that you operate with your restricted license. Sometimes, an ignition interlock device is used to release the driver from the geographical restrictions imposed by the restricted driving permit. For example, a judge may allow an offender to drive as usual if they have an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicle prior to applying for the restricted license.

Contact a Campbell County DUI Defense Attorney Today

Being charged with DUI is not an uncommon occurrence in Tennessee, but it is a serious charge. If you are convicted of DUI, you could face jail time, a driver’s license suspension, expensive fines and other penalties. At The Law Office of William F. Evans, we can help you get back behind the wheel. Our Jacksboro, TN DUI defense lawyer has the experience you are looking for when facing DUI charges. To schedule a free consultation, call our office today at 423-449-7980.

 

Sources:

https://www.tn.gov/content/tn/safety/driver-services/reinstatements/frdui.html

 

Lead Councel TACDL Elite Lawyer Top 40 Under 40 Tennessee Trial Lawyers Association National College of DUI Defense Member DWI Detection Certificate
Back to Top